Covid-19 Coronavirus

Planning Committee meetings

Most planning applications are determined by Senior Officers with delegated powers. Around 20% of planning applications are determined by the Planning Committee. The Planning Committee is chaired by DEFA's political member for planning. The Committee comprises of the Chair and 6 lay members. The Committee is charged with determining planning applications which are referred to it in accordance with the Standing Orders.

Meetings are usually held at:

Ground Floor Committee Room

Murray House

Mount Havelock


Isle of Man


The Department is able to carry out Planning Committee meetings electronically should it be required, and can support attendance and/or participation in a physical meeting by electronic means. For assistance in how to register, please refer to the Public Speaking Guidance and Supplementary Guidance in the downloadable documents box. The dates of the next few meetings are set out below and these will be physical meetings held at Murray House unless otherwise indicated on the agenda for that meeting.

  • 6 Sep 2021
  • 20 Sep 2021
  • 4 Oct 2021
  • 18 Oct 2021
  • 1 Nov 2021
  • 15 Nov 2021
  • 29 Nov 2021
  • 13 Dec 2021

Please also note that the agenda is available at least two working days prior to the meeting. A copy will be made available online as soon as it's published, alongside the agendas and minutes for last six months (the minutes are published when signed off by members at the committee's subsequent sitting). All are downloadable from our Committee Agenda and Minutes page

If you wish to register to receive an alert each time a planning committee agenda is published (available by email only) please contact   

For older historic copies of the agendas or minutes, please contact the Directorate on +44 1624 685950, or email:

Any comment regarding a planning application must have been made in writing, and in good time prior to the public meeting. This allows the Reporting Officer time to consider the content and include the detail in their assessment and the body of their report to the Committee. 

Registering to Speak at Planning Committee

The Department has introduced opportunity for the applicant, Local Authority and those people who have made written representations to register to speak at meetings of the Planning Committee. The procedure for doing so is clarified in the leaflet available in the downloadable documents.

Hard of Hearing facilities 

To assist those with hearing difficulties the meeting room is fitted with a voice amplification and a hearing loop facility. 

The Department has access to a small stock of portable induction loop kits for the public to use at the public meetings. 

If you need to use these facilities please alert and register a need to use such with the Office of Planning and Building Control BEFORE the meeting, telephone +44 1624 685950.

Back to top