uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies

New Members Appointed to the Isle of Man Arts Council

Monday, 18 February 2019

The Isle of Man Arts Council has welcomed three new Council members, who were elected to post at the end of 2018.

Sharon Walker, Benjamin Heath and Peter Greenhill will take up the positions, and will replace outgoing council members, David Wertheim, Alex Brindley and Juan Moore.

Marlene Maska MLC, Chair of the Isle of Man Arts Council, and member for the Department of Education, Sport and Culture (DESC), said:

‘We are increasingly seeing the benefits that Arts, Culture and Creativity are making to the Island’s quality of life and general wellbeing and it’s vitally important that the Membership of the Isle of Man Arts Council reflects the breadth, depth and unique character of the Island’s Arts environment.

‘On behalf of the Isle of Man Arts Council, I’d like to welcome the new members, who come from a variety of backgrounds and will enhance the considerable range of experience in place to support, inspire and promote the Creative Arts in our Island Community into the future.

‘I’d also like to thank David, Alex and Juan for all the work they’ve done for the Arts Council during their time in position and wish them well in the future.’

The Isle of Man Arts Council was set up over 50 years ago to support the work of local amateurs and professionals as well as visiting artists. It funds many organisations and offers advice and information to hundreds of people every year, encouraging and enabling participation and development in all aspects of the arts.

Members are appointed on a four year term; however Peter Greenhill, who has replaced Juan Moore, will complete the remaining two years left on this term, with the option to renew his membership for a further four years after that.

All three new members have now attended their first meetings. Membership of the Arts Council is voluntary.

Issued By

Did you find what you were looking for?
Back to top