uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies

New Headteacher for Laxey Primary School

Wednesday, 22 March 2017

Maxim Kelly has been appointed Headteacher of Laxey Primary School with effect from September 2017.

He will take over from Jean Jones, the school’s head since 2006, who is retiring this summer.

Mr Kelly graduated from the University of Liverpool with an honours degree in education and qualified teacher status in 2003.

His first substantive teaching post was at Andreas Primary School. He was appointed to the senior management team at Victoria Road Primary School in 2007, leaving to take up his first deputy headship at Braddan Primary School in 2009.

He moved to Murray’s Road Junior School as Deputy Headteacher in 2011 and in the following year became one of two deputy heads at both Murray’s Road and Ballaquayle Infants’ School, working as part of the leadership team that amalgamated the schools under the new name of Scoill-yn-Jubilee.

In September 2014 he gained his current position, Headteacher of Dhoon Primary School.

Mr Kelly said:

‘I am delighted to be taking up the headship of Laxey School and I look forward to meeting children, families and the entire school community over the coming months.

‘The school is well placed to continue to develop and improve and I pay tribute to outgoing Headteacher Jean Jones for her hard work at Laxey School over many years.’

Geoff Moorcroft, Director of Education for the Department of Education and Children, said:

‘During her 20 years at the school, Jean has worked with determination, commitment and dedication to make a significant contribution to the lives of children in Laxey.

‘She has been at the forefront, in recognising the importance of developing the “whole child” and has helped lead a school that has maintained academic standards, while also being recognised for its innovation and forward-thinking.

‘On behalf of the Department, I would like to take this opportunity to wish her a happy and fulfilling retirement.’

Laxey Primary has 205 pupils registered.

Maxim Kelly Laxey Headteacher

Issued By

Did you find what you were looking for?
Back to top