uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies

Financial Sanctions: Democratic Republic of the Congo

Friday, 10 February 2017

This news release is issued to publicise changes to EU sanctions measures in relation to the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Council Regulation (EU) 1183/2005 imposing financial sanctions against the Democratic Republic of the Congo has been amended with effect from 8 February 2017, so that identifying information for the 21 individuals and entity listed in the Annex to this Notice has been updated and are still subject to an asset freeze. This reflects the decisions made on 13 and 19 October 2016 by the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Committee established pursuant to Resolution 1533 (2004) to amend the identifying information for a number of entries.                                         

Financial institutions and other persons are requested to check whether they maintain any accounts or otherwise hold funds or economic resources for, or provide financial services to, the designated persons and entity. If so, they must freeze such accounts or other funds and, unless licensed by the Treasury, refrain from dealing with said funds or economic resources, and suspend the provision of any financial services. They must also report their findings to the Sanctions Officer at the Customs and Excise Division of the Treasury. Where a relevant institution has already reported details of accounts, other funds or economic resources held frozen for the designated persons, they are not required to report these details again.

Further details of the sanctions regime related to the Democratic Republic of the Congo and links to the Consolidated List of individuals and entities subject to these and other financial sanctions regimes may be found on the Customs and Excise pages of the Isle of Man Government website.

Issued By

Did you find what you were looking for?
Back to top