Covid-19 Coronavirus

Deadline approaching for views on proposed constituency boundaries

Thursday, 14 February 2013

The deadline is approaching for people to submit their views on plans to redraw the Island’s boundaries to create 12 two-seat constituencies for the House of Keys.

Responses to the Boundary Review Committee’s public consultation must be received by 5pm on Wednesday 20 February. Maps showing the proposed electoral boundaries, along with background information and contact details, are available on the Government website.

Feedback from the consultation will be considered by the Boundary Review Committee before it submits its final report to Tynwald. The proposed changes are in line with a Tynwald resolution that there should be equality of representation, with the 24 House of Keys seats divided into 12 constituencies of two Members each.

At present the House of Keys has two three-seat constituencies (Rushen and Onchan), five two-seaters (the four Douglas constituencies and Ramsey), and eight one-seaters (Ayre, Castletown, Garff, Glenfaba, Michael, Peel, Malew and Santon, and Middle). This means that some individuals have three votes each in general elections, some have two and some have only one – depending on where they live.

As well as views about the proposed boundary revision, the public consultation is also seeking suggestions regarding the names of the new constituencies.


The 12 two-seat constituencies proposed in the draft plan published by the Boundary Review Committee are listed below with general and approximate descriptions. The names are working titles only and the Committee would welcome suggestions.

  • North – the current constituencies of Michael and Ayre plus the parish of Maughold, from Garff
  • Ramsey – the current constituency
  • East – Laxey and Lonan, from Garff, plus Onchan parish and most of Birch Hill, from Onchan
  • Onchan Urban – the current Onchan constituency minus Onchan parish and most of Birch Hill
  • Douglas Western – based on the polling districts Anagh Coar, Ballaugton, Pulrose
  • Douglas Central – Albany, Ballabrooie, Eastfield, Quay, St George’s, Somerset and Tynwald, plus part of Garden City
  • Douglas Northern – Glencrutchery, Willaston and part of Garden City, plus a small part of Onchan parish
  • Douglas Eastern – Crescent, Derby, St Ninian’s, Strand, Windsor
  • Central – Middle plus the parish of Santon, from Malew and Santon
  • South – Castletown plus Malew, from Malew and Santon, and Arbory, from Rushen
  • South West – the current Rushen constituency minus Arbory
  • West – Peel plus Glenfaba and a small part of North Malew

Issued By

Back to top