Covid-19 Coronavirus

DEFA Minister welcomes new members

Friday, 21 October 2016

Geoffrey Boot MHK, Minister for Environment, Food and Agriculture, has welcomed his newly appointed political Members and announced the areas they will work in.

Tim Baker MHK will chair the Planning Committee and have responsibility for the Planning and Building Control Directorate of the Department of Environment, Food and Agriculture (DEFA). He will also support the Minister in delivering the work of the Agriculture and Fisheries Directorates.

Martyn Perkins MHK will have responsibility for the Environment, Safety and Health Directorate and will also support the Minister in delivering the Food Matters strategy, where he will provide a valuable link with the Department of Economic Development, to which he also belongs.

David Cretney MLC, who was a Member of DEFA prior to the House of Keys general election, will continue to have responsibility for Forestry, Amenity and Lands and will support the Minister in delivering aspects of amenity and recreation.

The Minister said:

‘DEFA has an important and diverse range of functions. These support the Island’s continued economic prosperity, promote its outstanding environment and strive to ensure the safety of its people.

‘The new Members bring with them a wealth of private sector experience and skills and Mr Cretney has three decades of political experience and a strong background with DEFA.

‘Together I believe we will be an effective, well-balanced team and I am confident that we will work together to play our part in delivering the Government Programme.’

Issued By

Back to top