Douglas Bay Horse Tramway
Established in 1876, and operated from 1902 until 2015 by Douglas Borough Council, the Douglas Bay Horse Tramway celebrated its 140th anniversary on 7 August 2016. Douglas Bay Horse Tram have an active group of supporters and volunteers, who help make the horse tram operations possible. The supporters have a dedicated website for the Horse Trams please follow Douglas Horse Tramway or visit the friends of Douglas Bay Horse Tramways website.
Horse trams operate between April and November.
Go Explore cards are accepted for travel on all horse tram services. These offer great value for money unlimited travel for 1, 3, 5 or 7 consecutive days on all our bus and heritage railway services.
Single journey horse tram tickets are £3 for adults and £2 per child or £10 for a family of two adults and up to three children.
Day tickets are £6 for adults and £3 per child or £15 for a family of two adults and up to three children.
Alternatively residents and visitors can purchase a Go Horse Tram card valid for the whole season. These are available from the Welcome Centre and Derby Castle terminus, priced £30 per adult, £20 concessions - for children and resident senior citizens.
|1||Winter Saloon, the second tramcar to carry this number, it was built as a replacement for the original No.1 built in 1876 and scrapped in 1900||30||1913||Reserved for advertiser|
|12*||Toastrack, cream and blue, oldest surviving tram bought new that remains in the fleet||32||1888||not available|
|18||Double Deck, originally built in 1883 for a proposed Ramsgate & Margate Tramway but went to a South Shields tramway before being purchased secondhand for Douglas in 1887||40||1883||Okell's|
|21||Toastrack, lengthened in 1936 when the seating capacity was increased from 32 passengers to 40||40||1890||The Dining Car|
|27*||Winter Saloon, one of three Winter Saloons delivered in 1892; end vestibules were added in 1895 to offer tram drivers more protection from the elements||30||1892||Out of Service for 2018|
|29||Winter Saloon, one of the three Winter Saloons delivered in 1892; end vestibules were added in 1895 to offer tram drivers more protection from the elements||30||1892||Out of Service for 2018|
|32*||Bulkhead, glazed end panels were fitted in 1967||32||1896||Reserved for advertiser|
|36||Fitted with Glazed End Panels and lengthened in 1908||32||1896||Reserved for advertiser|
|38||Toastrack, red and blue; lengthened in 1938 and capacity increased from 32 to 40||40||1905||Not available|
|40*||Toastrack, lengthened in 1939 and capacity increased from 32 to 40||40||1902||Not available|
|43||UEC Bulkhead||40||1907||Conister Bank|
|44*||UEC Bulkhead, known as the Royal Tram since 1963. The tramway received royal visits in 1964, 1965, 1970 and 1972. The latter visit included Her Majesty The Queen, HRH Prince Philip, HRH Princess Anne and Earl Mountbatten||40||1907||Not available|
If you wish to support the horse trams by advertising on a tram, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org. *indicates tram is not available for advertising.
Working tram horses 2018
Horses in Training 2018