Douglas Bay Horse Tramway
Established in 1876, and operated from 1902 until 2015 by Douglas Borough Council, the Douglas Bay Horse Tramway celebrated its 140th anniversary on 7 August 2016.
The 2017 timetable can be downloaded from this page.
More historical information on the horse trams can be found on this independent website by stable hand Deborah Watterson.
Go Explore cards are accepted for travel on all horse tram services. These offer great value for money unlimited travel for 1, 3, 5 or 7 consecutive days on all our bus and heritage railway services.
Single journey horse tram tickets are £3 for adults and £2 per child or £10 for a family of two adults and up to three children.
Day tickets are £6 for adults and £3 per child or £15 for a family of two adults and up to three children.
Alternatively residents and visitors can purchase a Go Horse Tram card valid for the whole season. These are available from the Welcome Centre and Derby Castle terminus, priced £30 per adult, £20 concessions - for children and resident senior citizens.
|1||Winter Saloon, the second tramcar to carry this number, it was built as a replacement for the original No.1 built in 1876 and scrapped in 1900||30||1913||reserved for advertiser TBC|
|12*||Toastrack, cream and blue, oldest surviving tram bought new that remains in the fleet||32||1888||***********|
|18||Double Deck, originally built in 1883 for a proposed Ramsgate & Margate Tramway but went to a South Shields tramway before being purchased secondhand for Douglas in 1887||40||1883||Okell's|
|21||Toastrack, lengthened in 1936 when the seating capacity was increased from 32 passengers to 40||40||1890||************|
|27||Winter Saloon, one of three Winter Saloons delivered in 1892; end vestibules were added in 1895 to offer tram drivers more protection from the elements||30||1892||reserved for advertiser TBC|
|32*||Bulkhead, glazed end panels were fitted in 1967||32||1896||***********|
|36||Bulkhead, lengthened in 1908 and capacity increased from 32 to 40, also fitted with glazed end panels at the same time||40||1896||Conister Bank|
|40*||Toastrack, lengthened in 1939 and capacity increased from 32 to 40||40||1902||***********|
|42*||Toastrack, red and blue; lengthened in 1938 and capacity increased from 32 to 40||40||1905||***********|
|43||UEC Bulkhead||40||1907||Sure Isle of Man|
|44*||UEC Bulkhead, known as the Royal Tram since 1963. The tramway received royal visits in 1964, 1965, 1970 and 1972. The latter visit included Her Majesty The Queen, HRH Prince Philip, HRH Princess Anne and Earl Mountbatten||40||1907||*************|
If you wish to support the horse trams by advertising on a tram, please contact email@example.com. *indicates tram is not available for advertising.
Working tram horses 2016