uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies

Planning and Building Control

Information in this category is provided by

Most members of the public will rarely use the services of Planning or Building Control and accordingly will have little or no experience of how the system works. It is therefore hoped that any general planning enquiry can be satisfied by use of this website. If you find that the website does not provide the answer to your questions, contact can be made directly with the relevant part of the Department.

For Development Management, Building Control and Conservation

Planning and Building Control Directorate

Department of Environment

Food and Agriculture

First Floor

Murray House

Mount Havelock


Isle of Man


Telephone:+44 1624 685950

Email:Send Email

Opening hours

  • 9am to 5.30pm Monday to Thursday
  • 9am to 5pm Friday

The public service counter at Murray House closes half an hour before the general office times stated above.

For Mapping

Department of Infrastructure

Highway Services

Sea Terminal Building


Isle of Man

Telephone:+44 1624 685924

Email:Send Email

Planning Policy

Planning Policy

Cabinet Office

Sea Terminal Building


Isle of Man


Telephone:+44 1624 685905

Email:Send Email

Development Management Officers

Planning and Building Control has 4 Development Management Officers and 2 Assistant Planners. They are responsible for Development Management (both Residential and Commercial). Please see Planning Officer areas for guidance as to where your query should be directed.

For planning pre application advice please click here.

General enquires are encouraged by email to:

Planning Enforcement Officer

  • Telephone: +44 1624 685909 

Building Control Officers

There are currently 3 Building Control Officers who cover the Island with exception to the Parishes of Douglas and Onchan.


Richard Baker
Tel: +44 1624 685899
Mobile: +44 7624 494710

  • Lonan
  • Braddan
  • Laxey
  • Marown
  • German
  • Patrick

Mark Edwards
Tel:  +44 1624 685898
Mobile:  +44 7624 460037

  • Santon
  • Malew
  • Arbory
  • Rushen
  • Port Erin
  • Port St Mary
  • Castletown

Matthew Quayle
Tel:  +44 1624 685746
Mobile:  +44 7624 487091

  • Bride
  • Andreas
  • Jurby
  • Ballaugh
  • Lezayre
  • Ramsey
  • Maughold
  • Michael


Douglas Council
Tel:  +44 1624 696375


Onchan District Commissioners
Tel:  +44 1624 624967



The Department of Infrastructure Highway Services acts as the custodian of the Islands Mapping Service. Responsibilities include map survey, data licencing, GIS provision and commercial publications. 

  • General enquiries email:
  • Tel:  +44 1624 685924  

Planning Policy

The role of Planning Policy was transferred to the Cabinet Office in January 2016. The policy section is currently based in the Sea Terminal buildings. They are responsible for developing and reviewing the Government's planning policy documents.

  • General enquiries email:
  • Tel:  +44 1624 685905
Back to top