Covid-19 Coronavirus

New Council of Ministers announced

Monday, 10 October 2016

THE new Chief Minister of the Isle of Man, Howard Quayle MHK, has today (Monday October 10, 2016) announced his Council of Ministers to head the departments of government.

Mr Quayle said:

‘I have already made it clear that I want to lead an inclusive government and this new Council of Ministers represents a range of experience and views within the House of Keys. We are all agreed, however, on the fundamentals - on the need to grow the Island’s economy, to engage with our international challenges and opportunities, and to set clear priorities for the way ahead.

‘Above all we share a passionate commitment to doing what’s best for the Isle of Man.’

The Chief Minister continued:

‘As there are so many new faces in Tynwald the public expects a different approach from its parliament and government. With a new House and a new Council of Ministers I believe we do have an opportunity to make a fresh start, and that by working together we can make real progress on behalf of the Island and its people.’

Mr Quayle confirmed that his Ministers will start work this week on developing a Government Programme. He intends to make a statement at the November Tynwald outlining policy priorities, which will then be shared for feedback from Tynwald Members, the business community and the public.

On the issue of collective responsibility within the Council of Ministers, the Chief Minister has agreed to update the rules to take account of emerging views amongst the Tynwald Membership.

The new Council of Ministers comprises Mr Quayle plus the following eight Ministers in charge of:

Economic Development – Laurence Skelly MHK

Education and Children – Graham Cregeen MHK

Environment, Food and Agriculture – Geoffrey Boot MHK

Health and Social Care – Kate Beecroft MHK

Home Affairs – Bill Malarkey MHK

Infrastructure – Ray Harmer MHK

Policy and Reform – Chris Thomas MHK

Treasury – Alfred Cannan MHK

Issued By

Back to top