Covid-19 Coronavirus


The Guidance for Candidates document available as a downloadable PDF on this web page aims to provide practical advice to anyone who wishes to stand as a candidate in the House of Keys General Election on Thursday 23 September 2021.

It covers each of the main steps during the election process, including nominations, the election timetable, the campaign and candidate spending, polling day and the declaration of the result.

This guidance is intended to complement rather than replace or replicate other sources of information. It is a living document and may be updated where appropriate.

Further resources will be added to these web pages when they become available for publication.

Qualification for membership of the House of Keys

Section 4 of the Elections (Keys and Local Authorities) Act 2020 sets out the criteria that must be met in order for a person to stand as a candidate for the House of Keys.

The provisions in respect of the qualification and disqualification criteria are also included in full in Appendix 1 of Guidance for Candidates document.

To be qualified you must:

  • Be 18 years old,
  • be a British citizen or have the right to remain in the Island,
  • have been ordinarily resident in the Isle of Man for at least five years(or periods amounting in aggregate to at least five years,
  • be registered on the register of electors in the Isle of Man; and
  • Not be disqualified.


The House of Keys General Election will be conducted in accordance with the Elections (Keys and Local Authorities) Act 2020 and the Elections (Keys) Regulations 2021.

The Regulations are currently subject to Tynwald approval and will be published on this web page at the earliest opportunity.

Constituency Returning Officers

The Guidance for Candidates document should be read in conjunction with any guidance or instructions given by the Returning Officer for the constituency.

It is recommended that prospective candidates and their agents should liaise at an early stage with the Returning Officer for their constituency.

Back to top