Gov.im uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies

General Practice Trainees

GP training on the Isle of Man started in 2010.

Since then the programme has developed by expanding the number of training practices and offering more choice in hospital posts available.

We aim to provide a supportive and enjoyable experience of preparing for a career in Primary Care.

We hope the training will build your enthusiasm for your chosen specialty and lay the foundation for a fulfilling career.

Dates for your diaries:

Half day learning sessions. All Thursday pm, starting at 1.30pm in the Education centre at Keyll Daree, unless stated otherwise.

DateVenueAdditional information
1.2.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
CSA role plays – local trainer to attend
8.2.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
Programme To be Confirmed
22.2.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
Dr Alapati, Respiratory Consultant
1.3.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
Knowledge based session, Dr Ellis to co-ordinate
8.3.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
CSA role plays – local trainer to attend
15.3.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
Dr Walters, Cardiology Consultant
19.4.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
Knowledge based session, Dr Ellis to co-ordinate
26.4.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
CSA role plays – local trainer to attend
3.5.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
Mixed programme
10.5.18 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
Dr Dashfield – pain management
14.6.17 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
Knowledge based session, Dr Ellis to co-ordinate
21.6.17 Gwynn Williams Room
Medical Education Centre
CSA role plays – local trainer to attend

GP Trainers, contacts:

ContactLocationEmail address
Dr Peter Griffiths Peel Peter.Griffiths@gov.im
Dr Fiona Baker Palatine Fiona.Baker@gov.im
Dr Helen Teare Peel Helen.Teare@gov.im
Dr Helen Freer Finch Hill Helen.Freer@gov.im
Dr Catriona Farrant Ballasalla Catriona.Farrant@gov.im
Dr Dawn Heath Finch Hill dawn.heath@gov.im
Rebecca Smith - GP Specialty School Manager Cheshire and Mersey Academy (knows everything about GP training, will be able to signpost you to others if required)

Rebecca.Smith@hee.nhs.uk

Alison Caldwell - Associate Dean GP HEE(NW), Cheshire and Mersey Academy (person who oversees our training scheme at the deanery)

alison.caldwell@hee.nhs.uk

Leanne Urwin Family Practitioner Services, 
Vocational Training Administrator

Leanne.Urwin2@gov.im

Out of Hours

GP trainees have to undertake and document 18 sessions of Out of Hours experience by the end of Training.

These take place at MEDS based at Noble's Hospital.

The contact for arrangin the sessions is Leanne Urwin.

Cervical Screening Training

Please see the Assessment guidelines in the downloadable documents.
To arrange attendance at a Cervical Screening theory course:

Carmel Farrell (Mrs) - Course Manager

Mersey Region Group for Health Training

University of Liverpool

Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust

2nd floor

Crown Street

Liverpool

L8 7SS

Telephone:+44 151 702 4102

Email:Send Email

Useful sources of information

NHS UK - General Practice Education in Health Education England working across the North West

Did you find what you were looking for?
Back to top