Covid-19 Coronavirus

General Practice Trainees

GP training on the Isle of Man started in 2010.

Since then the programme has developed by expanding the number of training practices and offering more choice in hospital posts available.

We aim to provide a supportive and enjoyable experience of preparing for a career in Primary Care.

We hope the training will build your enthusiasm for your chosen specialty and lay the foundation for a fulfilling career.

Dates for your diaries

Half day learning sessions. 

DateVenueAdditional information
10.08.22 Palatine Health Centre Intro and Welcome, Portfolio

Dr Fiona Baker
17.08.22 Palatine Health Centre Journal Club group session

Dr Fiona Baker
24.08.22 Cancelled
31.08.22 Palatine and Journal Club group session Dr Fiona Baker
07.09.22 Palatine Health Centre Group session

Dr Fiona Baker
14.09.22 Palatine Health Centre Cardiology – Heart failure (bring cases)

Dr Lakshman Paudyal
21.09.22 Palatine Health Centre Genetics

Dr Glenda Beaman
05.10.22 Palatine Health Centre TBD
12.10.22 Palatine Health Centre Diabetes – Insulin and new drugs

Dr Amutha Krishnan
19.10.22 Palatine Health Centre TBD
02.11.22 Palatine Health Centre TBD
09.11.22 Palatine Health Centre TBD
16.11.22 Palatine Health Centre TBD
30.11.22 Palatine Health Centre TBD
07.12.22 Palatine Health Centre TBD

The venue is Palatine Health Centre for all.

GP Trainers, contacts

ContactLocationEmail address
Dr Thenral Anand Peel Thenral.Anand@gov.im
Dr Fiona Baker Palatine Fiona.Baker@gov.im
Dr Adrienne Rogers Palatine Adrienne.Rogers@gov.im
Dr Helen Freer Finch Hill Helen.Freer@gov.im
Dr Sushma Chandra Laxey and Village Walk Sushma.Chandra@gov.im
Rebecca Smith - GP Specialty School Manager Cheshire and Mersey Academy (knows everything about GP training, will be able to signpost you to others if required)

Rebecca.Smith@hee.nhs.uk

Clare Malpas - Associate Dean GP HEE(NW), Cheshire and Mersey Academy (person who oversees our training scheme at the deanery)

Clare.Malpas@hee.nhs.uk

Claire Newall Primary Care Services,
GP Professional Services Officer

Claire.newall2@gov.im

If you would like to contact the team with any queries, please use our GP Trainee Queries form.

Out of Hours

GP trainees have to undertake and document 18 sessions of Out of Hours experience by the end of Training.

These take place at MEDS based at Noble's Hospital.

The contact for arrangin the sessions is Leanne Urwin.

Cervical Screening Training

Please see the Assessment guidelines in the downloadable documents.
To arrange attendance at a Cervical Screening theory course:

Carmel Farrell (Mrs) - Course Manager

Mersey Region Group for Health Training

University of Liverpool

Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust

2nd floor

Crown Street

Liverpool

L8 7SS

Telephone:+44 151 702 4102

Email:Send Email

Useful sources of information

NHS UK - General Practice Education in Health Education England working across the North West

Back to top