Covid-19 Coronavirus

General Practice Trainees

GP training on the Isle of Man started in 2010.

Since then the programme has developed by expanding the number of training practices and offering more choice in hospital posts available.

We aim to provide a supportive and enjoyable experience of preparing for a career in Primary Care.

We hope the training will build your enthusiasm for your chosen specialty and lay the foundation for a fulfilling career.

Dates for your diaries

Half day learning sessions.

DateVenueAdditional information
11.01.23 Palatine Health Centre Pain management

Dr Dashfield
18.01.23 Palatine Health Centre Group session

Dr Fiona Baker
25.01.23 Palatine Health Centre
08.02.23 Palatine Health Centre
15.02.23 Palatine Health Centre Frailty and falls

Dr Duncan Gerry
22.02.23 Palatine Health Centre ST1 new starters only – Induction by HENW on Teams
01.03.23 Palatine Health Centre Group session

Dr Bake r/ Dr Clare Malpas
08.03.23 Palatine Health Centre
15.03.23 Palatine Health Centre
29.03.23 Palatine Health Centre
25.04.23 Palatine Health Centre
03.05.23 Palatine Health Centre
10.05.23 Palatine Health Centre
17.05.23 Palatine Health Centre
24.05.23 Palatine Health Centre
21.06.23 Palatine Health Centre
28.06.23 Palatine Health Centre
05.07.23 Palatine Health Centre

GP Trainers, contacts

ContactLocationEmail address
Dr Thenral Anand Peel Thenral.Anand@gov.im
Dr Fiona Baker Palatine Fiona.Baker@gov.im
Dr Adrienne Rogers Palatine Adrienne.Rogers@gov.im
Dr Helen Freer Finch Hill Helen.Freer@gov.im
Dr Sushma Chandra Laxey and Village Walk Sushma.Chandra@gov.im
Rebecca Smith - GP Specialty School Manager Cheshire and Mersey Academy (knows everything about GP training, will be able to signpost you to others if required)

Rebecca.Smith@hee.nhs.uk

Clare Malpas - Associate Dean GP HEE(NW), Cheshire and Mersey Academy (person who oversees our training scheme at the deanery)

Clare.Malpas@hee.nhs.uk

Claire Newall Primary Care Services,
GP Professional Services Officer

Claire.newall2@gov.im

If you would like to contact the team with any queries, please use our GP Trainee Queries form.

Out of Hours

GP trainees have to undertake and document 18 sessions of Out of Hours experience by the end of Training.

These take place at MEDS based at Noble's Hospital.

The contact for arrangin the sessions is Leanne Urwin.

Cervical Screening Training

Please see the Assessment guidelines in the downloadable documents.
To arrange attendance at a Cervical Screening theory course:

Carmel Farrell (Mrs) - Course Manager

Mersey Region Group for Health Training

University of Liverpool

Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust

2nd floor

Crown Street

Liverpool

L8 7SS

Telephone:+44 151 702 4102

Email:Send Email

Useful sources of information

NHS UK - General Practice Education in Health Education England working across the North West

Back to top