Gov.im uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies

General Practice Trainees

GP training on the Isle of Man started in 2010.

Since then the programme has developed by expanding the number of training practices and offering more choice in hospital posts available.

We aim to provide a supportive and enjoyable experience of preparing for a career in Primary Care.

We hope the training will build your enthusiasm for your chosen specialty and lay the foundation for a fulfilling career.

Dates for your diaries:

Half day learning sessions. All Thursday pm, starting at 1.30pm in the Education centre at Keyll Daree, unless stated otherwise.

DateVenueAdditional information
25.04.19 Gwynn Williams Room, Keyll Daree Edwin Kinrade, Pharmacist
02.05.19 Gwynn Williams Room, Keyll Daree Group Session
09.05.19 Gwynn Williams Room, Keyll Daree BLS training (Paul Ellis)
16.05.19 Gwynn Williams Room, Keyll Daree Dr Fatima Khan – Obs/Gynae
23.05.19 Gwynn Williams Room, Keyll Daree Lead Employer visiting
13.06.19 Gwynn Williams Room, Keyll Daree Programme to be confirmed
20.06.19 Gwynn Williams Room, Keyll Daree Dr Roger Dixon – Study Skills and Practice Admin
27.06.19 Lecture Theatre, Keyll Daree GP Education Session
04.07.19 Gwynn Williams Room, Keyll Daree Programme to be confirmed

GP Trainers, contacts:

ContactLocationEmail address
Dr Peter Griffiths Peel Peter.Griffiths@gov.im
Dr Fiona Baker Palatine Fiona.Baker@gov.im
Dr Helen Teare Peel Helen.Teare@gov.im
Dr Helen Freer Finch Hill Helen.Freer@gov.im
Dr Catriona Farrant Ballasalla Catriona.Farrant@gov.im
Dr Sushma Chandra Laxey and Village Walk Sushma.Chandra@gov.im
Rebecca Smith - GP Specialty School Manager Cheshire and Mersey Academy (knows everything about GP training, will be able to signpost you to others if required)

Rebecca.Smith@hee.nhs.uk

Clare Malpas - Associate Dean GP HEE(NW), Cheshire and Mersey Academy (person who oversees our training scheme at the deanery)

Clare.Malpas@hee.nhs.uk

Tim Casemore Family Practitioner Services,
Vocational Training Administrator

Tim.Casemore@gov.im

Out of Hours

GP trainees have to undertake and document 18 sessions of Out of Hours experience by the end of Training.

These take place at MEDS based at Noble's Hospital.

The contact for arrangin the sessions is Leanne Urwin.

Cervical Screening Training

Please see the Assessment guidelines in the downloadable documents.
To arrange attendance at a Cervical Screening theory course:

Carmel Farrell (Mrs) - Course Manager

Mersey Region Group for Health Training

University of Liverpool

Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust

2nd floor

Crown Street

Liverpool

L8 7SS

Telephone:+44 151 702 4102

Email:Send Email

Useful sources of information

NHS UK - General Practice Education in Health Education England working across the North West

Did you find what you were looking for?
Back to top