uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies

Types of discrimination

Equality -logo -Final

There are four main types of discrimination:

Direct Discrimination

A person cannot be treated worse than another person because of a protected characteristic. This also includes treating a person worse than another because they are associated with a person who has a protected characteristic, or a person who is perceived to have a protected characteristic.

Indirect Discrimination

You must not do something through the use of a policy, rule or practice (way of doing things) that has or would have a worse impact on a person and on other people who share a protected characteristic, than on people who don't share that same characteristic. This will be indirect discrimination unless you are able to show that you had a good enough reason (objective justification) for what you have done or intend to do. 


A person cannot be treated in a way that violates their dignity, or creates a hostile, degrading, humiliating or offensive environment.


A person cannot be treated unfairly for taking action under the Equality Act, nor can a person be treated unfairly for supporting someone else who is doing so.

Discrimination examples

Did you find what you were looking for?
Back to top