Covid-19 Coronavirus


There are eight Government Departments, each of which is a separate legal entity with its own functions, powers and responsibilities. Each is represented on the Council of Ministers by its Minister.

The Departments account for the great bulk of Government's personnel and budget and are the principal agencies through which public services are provided.

Each Department is headed by its Minister and the functions of the Department are exercised by the Minister. Each Department has, in addition, one or more members, who are Members of Tynwald. The members are appointed by the Governor in Council and they may be authorised by the Minister to exercise any of his functions in his place, either alone or jointly with him or with any other person or persons.

This link will enable you to view a PDF of the eight Government departments details.

Back to top