

# The Treasury Yn Tashtey

Assessor of Income Tax
Nicola Guffogg

**INCOME TAX DIVISION** 

Government Office, Douglas Isle of Man, British Isles IM1 3TX

Telephone: (01624) 685400
Fax: (01624) 685351
E mail: incometax@itd.treasury.gov.im
Website: www.gov.im/incometax

## **INDUSTRY ADVISORY NOTICE**

Date: 04 January 2023

#### **AUTOMATIC EXCHANGE OF INFORMATION – JANUARY 2023 UPDATE**

This industry update is applicable to all Isle of Man Financial Institutions and Third Parties as it provides important updates in respect of the Common Reporting Standard ('CRS').

### CRS - Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions 2022

The list of 'Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions' that Isle of Man Financial Institutions can rely upon for **2022** reporting can be found in **Appendix I** of this update, and will be added to an updated version of the Isle of Man's CRS guidance note, <u>GN53</u>, in due course.

Isle of Man Financial Institutions and Third Parties reporting on behalf of Isle of Man Financial Institutions are reminded that they should **only** report in respect of Financial Accounts held by Individuals, Entities or Entities with Controlling Persons resident in the jurisdictions included in the Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdiction list for the year in question.

#### CRS – Provisional List of Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions 2023

A provisional list of 'Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions' that Isle of Man Financial Institutions can rely upon for **2023** reporting can be found in **Appendix II** of this update.

This provisional list should only be used by Isle of Man Financial Institutions that are ceasing to be a Reporting Financial Institution and need to file a final report prior to cessation in accordance with section 6.4 of GN53.

#### **CRS – Isle of Man Participating Jurisdictions**

A Participating Jurisdiction is a jurisdiction which has an agreement in place to collect and exchange information with the Isle of Man as required under the CRS.

Isle of Man Financial Institutions are reminded that they are required to treat 'managed' Investment Entities, (or branches thereof) that are resident in (or located in) any Non-Participating Jurisdictions, as Passive NFEs and therefore report on the Controlling Persons of such entities that are Reportable Persons as defined in Section VIII, D.2 of the CRS. 'Managed' Investment Entities are those that meet the definition of an Investment Entity as per Section VIII A.6.b) of the CRS.

The latest list of 'Participating Jurisdictions' that Isle of Man Financial Institutions can rely on can be found in **Appendix III** of this update.

Isle of Man Financial Institutions are reminded that jurisdictions may be added **and** removed from the Participating List from time to time and are therefore encouraged to review the latest list carefully and, if

need be, compare it with the previous version that can be found on the FACTA/CRS page of the Income Tax Division's website at <a href="https://www.gov.im/incometax.">www.gov.im/incometax.</a>

#### Isle of Man Lists - Excel File

To assist Isle of Man Financial Institutions and Third Parties the lists referred to in this notice (the Isle of man Reportable Jurisdictions for 2022, the provisional Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions for 2023 and the Isle of Man Participating Jurisdictions) are now available to download in an Excel file under the 'CRS and FATCA Industry Advisory Notices' section on the AEOI page of the Income Tax Division's website www.gov.im/incometax.

#### **APPENDIX I – ISLE OF MAN REPORTABLE JURISDICTIONS 2022**

Albania	Andorra	Antigua & Barbuda	Argentina
Aruba	Australia	Austria	Azerbaijan
Barbados	Belgium	Belize	Brazil
Brunei Darussalam	Bulgaria	Canada	Chile
China	Colombia	Cook Islands	Costa Rica
Croatia	Curacao	Cyprus	Czech Republic
Denmark	Dominica	Ecuador	Estonia
Faroe Islands	Finland	France	Germany
Ghana	Gibraltar	Greece	Greenland
Grenada	Guernsey	Hong Kong	Hungary
Iceland	India	Indonesia	Ireland
Israel	Italy	Jamaica	Japan
Jersey	Jordan	Kazakhstan	Kenya
Korea	Latvia	Lebanon	Liechtenstein
Lithuania	Luxembourg	Macao	Malaysia
Maldives	Malta	Mauritius	Mexico
Moldova	Monaco	Montenegro	Montserrat
Netherlands	New Zealand	Nigeria	Niue
Norway	Oman	Pakistan	Panama
Peru	Poland	Portugal	Romania
Saint Kitts & Nevis	Saint Lucia	Saint Vincent & the Grenadines	Samoa
San Marino	Saudi Arabia	Seychelles	Singapore
Sint Maarten	Slovak Republic	Slovenia	South Africa
Spain	Sweden	Switzerland	Thailand
Trinidad & Tobago	Turkey	Uganda	Ukraine
United Kingdom	Uruguay	Vanuatu	

#### **APPENDIX II – PROVISIONAL ISLE OF MAN REPORTABLE JURISDICTIONS 2023**

Albania	Andorra	Antigua & Barbuda	Argentina
Aruba	Australia	Austria	Azerbaijan
Barbados	Belgium	Belize	Brazil
Brunei Darussalam	Bulgaria	Canada	Chile
China	Colombia	Cook Islands	Costa Rica
Croatia	Curacao	Cyprus	Czech Republic
Denmark	Dominica	Ecuador	Estonia
Faroe Islands	Finland	France	Georgia
Germany	Ghana	Gibraltar	Greece
Greenland	Grenada	Guernsey	Hong Kong
Hungary	Iceland	India	Indonesia
Ireland	Israel	Italy	Jamaica
Japan	Jersey	Jordan	Kazakhstan
Kenya	Korea	Latvia	Lebanon
Liechtenstein	Lithuania	Luxembourg	Macao
Malaysia	Maldives	Malta	Mauritius
Mexico	Moldova	Monaco	Montenegro
Montserrat	Netherlands	New Zealand	Nigeria

Niue Norway Oman Pakistan Poland Portugal Panama Peru Rwanda Saint Kitts & Nevis Saint Lucia Romania Saint Vincent & the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Saudi Arabia Seychelles Singapore Sint Maarten Slovak Republic Slovenia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Thailand Trinidad & Tobago Tunisia Uganda United Kingdom Turkey Ukraine

Uruguay Vanuatu

#### **APPENDIX III – PARTICIPATING JURISDICTIONS (UPDATED JANUARY 2023)**

Denmark Kuwait Albania Qatar Andorra Dominica Latvia Romania Anguilla Ecuador Lebanon Russia Antigua & Barbuda Estonia Liechtenstein Rwanda Argentina Faroe Islands Saint Kitts & Nevis Lithuania Aruba Finland Luxembourg Saint Lucia Australia France Macao Saint Vincent & the Grenadines Austria Georgia Malaysia Samoa San Marino Azerbaijan Germany Maldives **Bahamas** Ghana Malta Saudi Arabia Marshall Islands Seychelles Bahrain Gibraltar **Barbados** Greece Mauritius Singapore Sint Maarten Belgium Greenland Mexico **Belize** Grenada Moldova Slovak Republic Bermuda Guernsey Monaco Slovenia Brazil South Africa Hong Kong Montenegro British Virgin Islands Hungary Montserrat Spain Brunei Darussalam Iceland Morocco Sweden Bulgaria India Nauru Switzerland Canada Indonesia Netherlands Thailand

China Italy Niue Turks & Caicos Islands

New Zealand

Nigeria

Poland

Tunisia

Turkev

Vanuatu

ColombiaJamaicaNorwayUgandaCook IslandsJapanOmanUkraine

Costa RicaJerseyPakistanUnited Arab EmiratesCroatiaJordanPanamaUnited KingdomCuracaoKazakhstanPeruUruguay

Czech Republic Korea Portugal

Kenya

Ireland

Israel

#### **Guidance**

Cyprus

Cayman Islands

Chile

GN53, the Isle of Man's CRS guidance note, will be updated in due course to reflect the latest lists found in this appendix.

# Nicola Guffogg Assessor of Income Tax