## Boundary Review Committee Public consultation information

January 2013

The Boundary Review Committee has launched a public consultation on a draft plan for 12 two-seat constituencies for the House of Keys to replace the current mixture of three, two and one-seat constituencies.

The move is in line with Tynwald resolutions that there should be equality of representation, that the 24 Keys seats should be divided into twelve constituencies with two Members each, and that the population size of constituencies should not vary from the average by more than 15%.

At present the Island has two three-seat constituencies (Rushen and Onchan), five two-seaters (the four Douglas constituencies and Ramsey), and eight one-seaters (Ayre, Castletown, Garff, Glenfaba, Michael, Peel, Malew and Santon, and Middle). This means that some individuals have three votes each in general elections, some have two and some have only one – depending on where they live.

There is also a considerable variation in the numbers of voters per MHK, from 49% above the average in Middle to 26% below the average in Glenfaba (based on 2010/11 figures).

The 12 two-seat constituencies proposed in the draft plan published by the Boundary Review Committee are listed below with general and approximate descriptions. The names are working titles only and the Committee would welcome suggestions.

- North the current constituencies of Michael and Ayre plus the parish of Maughold, from Garff
- Ramsey the current constituency

- East Laxey and Lonan, from Garff, plus Onchan parish and most of Birch Hill,
   from Onchan
- Onchan Urban the current Onchan constituency minus Onchan parish and most of Birch Hill
- Douglas Western based on the polling districts Anagh Coar, Ballaugton,
   Pulrose
- Douglas Central Albany, Ballabrooie, Eastfield, Quay, St George's, Somerset and Tynwald, plus part of Garden City
- Douglas Northern Glencrutchery, Willaston and part of Garden City, plus a small part of Onchan parish
- **Douglas Eastern** Crescent, Derby, St Ninian's, Strand, Windsor
- Central Middle plus the parish of Santon, from Malew and Santon
- South Castletown plus Malew, from Malew and Santon, and Arbory, from Rushen
- **South West** the current Rushen constituency minus Arbory
- West Peel plus Glenfaba and a small part of North Malew

The Consultation period is from 9 January 2013 and the closing date for the receipt of comments is 5pm on 20 February 2013.

The consultation paper, maps and previous Boundary Review Committee reports can be viewed on the website: http://www.gov.im/cso/brc/

Responses can be made by writing to:

Mrs Ann Craine
Secretary to the Boundary Review Committee
Chief Secretary's Office
3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, Government Office
Bucks Road
Douglas
Isle of Man
IM1 3PN

or by emailing Ann.Craine@cso.gov.im

Appointed in December 2010 in compliance with a Tynwald resolution of July that year, the Boundary Review Committee has had two interim reports accepted by Tynwald following public consultation.

In response to the first, in December 2011, Tynwald voted in favour of the principle of equality of representation so that all constituencies should return an equal number of MHKs. It also agreed that constituencies should vary by no more than 15% in terms of their population numbers.

The Committee produced its second interim report to Tynwald in October 2012. This resulted in Tynwald agreeing that the 24 House of Keys seats should be divided into 12 constituencies of two Members each. The Committee was directed to draw up constituency boundaries on this basis, and to report back to Tynwald by June 2013.

The Boundary Review Committee is chaired by advocate Sally Bolton and the other members are Terry Groves, Ashton Lewis and Bob Riding.