



Assessor of Income Tax Nicola Guffogg INCOME TAX DIVISION Government Office, Douglas

Isle of Man, British Isles ISI 37X

Telephone	e: (01624) 685400
Fax:	(01624) 685351
E mail:	incometax@itd.treasury.gov.im
Website:	www.gov.im/incometax

INDUSTRY ADVISORY NOTICE

Date: 4 February 2019

AUTOMATIC EXCHANGE OF INFORMATION – FEBRUARY 2019 UPDATE

This industry update is applicable to all Isle of Man Financial Institutions and Third Parties and provides important updates in respect of the Common Reporting Standard ('CRS').

CRS – Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions 2018

The list of 'Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions' that Isle of Man Financial Institutions can rely upon for **2018** reporting can be found in **Appendix I** of this update, and will be added to an updated version of the Isle of Man's CRS guidance note, <u>GN53</u>, in due course.

Isle of Man Financial Institutions and Third Parties reporting on behalf of Isle of Man Financial Institutions are reminded that they should **only** report in respect of Financial Accounts held by Individuals, Entities or Entities with Controlling Persons resident in the jurisdictions included in the Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdiction list for the year in question.

CRS – Provisional List of Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions 2019

A provisional list of 'Isle of Man Reportable Jurisdictions' that Isle of Man Financial Institutions can rely upon for **2019** reporting can be found in **Appendix II** of this update.

This provisional list should only be used by Isle of Man Entities that are ceasing to be Reporting Financial Institution and needing to file a final report prior to dissolution in accordance with section 6.4 of <u>GN53</u>.

CRS – Isle of Man Participating Jurisdictions 2018

A Participating Jurisdiction is a jurisdiction which has an agreement in place to collect and exchange information with the Isle of Man as required under the CRS.

Isle of Man Financial Institutions are reminded that they are required to treat 'managed' Investment Entities, (or branches thereof) that are resident in (or located in) any Non-Participating Jurisdictions, as Passive NFEs and therefore report on the Controlling Persons of such entities that are Reportable Persons as defined in Section VIII, D.2 of the CRS.

'Managed' Investment Entities are those that meet the definition of an Investment Entity as per Section VIII A.6.b) of the CRS.

At present the legal basis for exchange has yet to be finalised between the Isle of Man and a small number of the jurisdictions that have made commitments to implement the CRS however, the Assessor intends to extend the transition provisions detailed in Annex II of <u>GN53</u> for 2019.

As a result, until such time as the Participating Jurisdictions list is updated, all jurisdictions that have made a commitment to undertake their first CRS exchanges between 2017 and 2022, as listed in

Appendix III of this update, will be treated as a Participating Jurisdiction. New additions, since the last list of Participating Jurisdictions was published, are highlighted in **bold**.

APPENDIX I – ISLE OF MAN REPORTABLE JURISDICTIONS 2018

Andorra Ghana Antigua & Barbuda Gibraltar Argentina Greece Aruba Greenland Australia Grenada Austria Guernsey Azerbaijan Hong Kong Barbados Hungary Belgium Iceland Belize India Brazil Indonesia Brunei Darussalam Ireland Bulgaria Israel Canada Italy Chile Japan China Jersey Colombia Korea Cook Islands Latvia Costa Rica Lebanon Croatia Liechtenstein Curacao Lithuania Cyprus Luxembourg Czech Republic Macao Denmark Malaysia Dominica Malta Estonia Mauritius Faroe Islands Mexico Finland Monaco France Montserrat Germany Netherlands

New Zealand Nigeria Niue Norway Pakistan Panama Poland Portugal Romania Russia Saint Kitts & Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent & the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Saudi Arabia **Seychelles** Singapore Sint Maarten Slovak Republic Slovenia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Trinidad & Tobago Turkey United Kingdom Uruguay Vanuatu

APPENDIX II – PROVISIONAL ISLE OF MAN REPORTABLE JURISDICTIONS 2019

Costa Rica Croatia Curacao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Dominica Estonia Faroe Islands Finland France Germany Ghana Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Malaysia Maldives Malta Mauritius Mexico Monaco Montserrat Netherlands New Zealand Sint Maarten Slovak Republic Slovenia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Trinidad & Tobago Turkey United Kingdom Uruguay Vanuatu

APPENDIX III - PARTICIPATING JURISDICTIONS (UPDATED)

Albania Andorra Anguilla Antigua & Barbuda Argentina Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan **Bahamas** Bahrain Barbados Belgium Belize Bermuda Brazil **British Virgin Islands** Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Canada **Cayman Islands** Chile China Colombia Cook Islands Costa Rica Croatia Curacao Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Dominica Estonia Faroe Islands Finland France

Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guernsey Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Ireland Israel Italy Japan Jersey Kazakhstan Korea Kuwait Latvia Lebanon Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Malaysia Maldives Malta Marshall Islands Mauritius Mexico Monaco Montserrat Nauru Netherlands

New Zealand Nigeria Niue Norway Oman Pakistan Panama Peru Poland Portugal Qatar Romania Russia Saint Kitts & Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent & the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Saudi Arabia Seychelles Singapore Sint Maarten Slovak Republic Slovenia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Trinidad & Tobago Turkey Turks & Caicos Islands **United Arab Emirates** United Kingdom Uruguay Vanuatu

Nicola Guffogg Assessor of Income Tax